Illinois Criminal Sexual Abuse Defense Attorney
Chicago Sexual Abuse Lawyer Provides Affordable, Aggressive Defense
Sexual abuse crimes are prosecuted vigorously in Illinois, especially those crimes involving the abuse of children. Given the stiff consequences alleged sexual abusers face in the State's criminal courts, as well as in the court of public opinion, if you are arrested for criminal sexual abuse, it is important to get an attorney experienced in defending these charges. It is equally important to resist the temptation to discuss the charges against you with the police or anyone else without a lawyer present. The experienced attorneys in the law office of Kathryn L. Harry & Associate, P.C. have successfully represented clients in criminal sexual abuse cases and sexual assault cases in DuPage, Cook, Will, and Kane counties, and throughout the Chicago area.
Penalties for Criminal Sexual Abuse in Chicago
Under Illinois law, criminal sexual abuse involves touching or fondling the victim's sex organs, anus or breast, either directly or through clothing. No other criminal charge carries the stigma that a sex offense does, not to mention the stiff criminal penalties attached to it. If you are arrested on sex charges, even before your day in court, you will experience an immediate impact on your life.
A sexual abuse conviction can result in serious penalties, including jail or prison time, significant fines or years on probation. If found guilty, you will be required to register as a sex offender, a label that will stay with you for life, and that may limit where you live and where you can go. You could be suspended or fired from your job, your reputation could be damaged, you or your family could receive threats, and the court could restrict you from contacting certain individuals. The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor charge of criminal sexual abuse is up to a year in the county jail, a fine up to $2,500 and/or up to 2 years of conditional discharge or probation. The misdemeanor charge applies in the following cases:
- The accused is under age 17 and the victim is age 9-16 at the time of the act
- There is less than a 5-year difference in age between the accused and the victim (age 13-16) at the time of the act
A Class 4 felony criminal sex abuse charge carries in 1 to 3 years of incarceration, a fine up to $25,000, 1 year of mandatory supervised release after the prison term, and/or up to 30 months of conditional discharge or probation. If you are found guilty of criminal sexual abuse more than once, the crime becomes a Class 2 felony with 3-6 years of incarceration. These felony charges apply in these instances:
- The criminal sexual abuse involves the use or threat of force or
- The victim was unable to understand the nature of the act or was unable to give knowing consent
The attorneys at Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. are not only experienced and knowledgeable in the area of criminal sexual offenses; we also have proven results for other clients who have faced these devastating legal charges. We have three convenient office locations where you may meet with lawyers who will explain the charges against you and let you know, up front, the prospects for your case. Former clients facing criminal sexual offenses know the value of the professional, personal, and skilled legal defense our team offers in DuPage, Cook, Will, and Kane Counties, and throughout the Chicago area. Contact us for your free initial consultation.